top of page
Search
  • Alicia Edgar

What does "professional" mean?

I want to preface this post with a disclosure. I wrote most of this post almost a year ago when the issue occurred that resulted in writing the post to begin with. I decided then not to post it because I considered myself to be acting rash and I decided to move on from the issue and didn't feel like bringing it back up and facing the consequences should the person find and read it. However this person, almost a year later, decides to still bring this issue up and complain about it to my boyfriend. And it has prompted me to release the story and my thoughts on what "professional" actually means. And so, here is the story.


I, as a woman who has chosen to dedicate her life to doing theatre professionally, the terms "amateur" "professional" "community" and "educational" come out a lot when talking about theatre. Generally, these terms relate to the level of the theatre, sometimes the quality of the performance or actors or crew. But here I want to look at the types of theatres in relation with the attitudes of the cast and crew. It is very possible to have a professional theatre with a cast and crew full of people who a) don't know what they're doing or b) don't care. It's equally as likely to have a professional cast with an amateur or community theatre. And it is always anticipated that the cast and crew will act as professionally as possible, even if you're producing a show in a middle school and know that they're just learning and some may care or not care.

That said, by the time a child actor grows up and ventures into college, he or she is considered an adult. And when you're an adult you are expected to act professionally. But what does that really mean? Does it mean you do everything exactly as you're told or instructed? Does it mean you take it if someone talks down to you? Are you a professional if you do talk down to people lower than you? And especially, does it mean if a director or higher up makes a choice you disagree with or takes away a role or part, that it is unprofessional to be upset? And this brings us to the beginning of our story.

I was performing in a show that works with all levels of actors, seasoned professionals right down to 8 year olds. I will not reveal the show, role I was playing, or any names related to the story- I am not here to drag anyone, but I know my question and blog topic requires the context of the story. Anyway, I was playing a role with a few tracks, as I was dancing some ensemble roles and was the dance captain. Right from auditions the director asked the Assistant Stage Manager to look and see if I would be able to do two tracks and he let her know that I could be in one dance however would not be able to be in the reprise of the song as the other part came on right after it. She said that was fine. Once we get into the rehearsal process, I am placed in these tracks and I learn the blocking and do not learn the choreography for the reprise. During the blocking process there was a mistake and someone was not called for a two second walk on scene where they walk on and immediately come back off. So she had me do it because I was there. I felt bad but I, trying to be professional, did as I was told and took the scene. Sometime later, the director comes to me and says I need to be in the reprise of the song. I am confused, and at the time we are two days from tech, and I show that I am upset and ask if I can stay in my scene since the scene is more important. She doesn't give me an answer. Later that night I receive an email that is sent to me, the stage managers, the choreographer, and some others stating a few things. All that needed to be said in the email is "I would like her to be in the reprise and not the scene and have her teach this other actor the scene instead." But instead I had paragraphs calling me unprofessional for being upset and she is making this change for "the good of the show." And I should be grateful since she gave me that walk on and off scene and I was unprofessional and expected better from me.

There's that word- unprofessional. I was unprofessional because I was upset about a change. But the multi-paragraph email dragging me was not unprofessional? Or changing and having me teach someone a scene and having them memorize lines I already knew in addition to having to learn a new dance with no time to rehearse, two days before tech, was not unprofessional? I had multiple people come to me and apologize for what happened regarding the issue and specifically, the email.

A quick conclusion to the story, I did as I was told and taught the scene to the other actor and learned the dance. I also decided to teach the walk on scene to the actor that was supposed to have it, which made me feel better.

So, what does professional mean? Is it doing what you're told? Is it taking the verbal abuse I took in that email? Or is it standing up for yourself and what you believe is for the good of the show. When my director made a choice I disagreed with and took away a role, was I unprofessional in my being upset?


Back in the present, my "rude and unprofessional behavior" was brought up again by this director while offering my boyfriend a job. And that brings back the question- was that professional? To talk down about me to someone who cares about me while offering that person a job? And am I the professional for letting it go to begin with and not posting this blog? Am I now the unprofessional one for posting this to begin with? Or is the question one of proper decorum and what one powerful person can get away with against someone still considered an emerging artist? And I can apply the question of unprofessionalism against emerging artists to other places I have worked and friends have worked- seeing actors who need a job dealing with ridiculous conditions and people who do not deserve to be in charge and rule their post with rude and undermining comments. Is dealing with this crap considered being professional?

Tell me your stories. Tell me your thoughts. What does "professional" actually mean?

8 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page