top of page
Search
  • Alicia Edgar

My Capstone Prospectus and Timeline

Updated: Oct 2, 2019

I have a habit of going over the top and trying to do the impossible. In this case, I want to break down the stigma that there aren’t jobs in theatre. My vision for this project is to bring together professors and professionals who work in the theatre and dance field and have them lead workshops for middle and high school students in Manchester schools. I want to demonstrate to them that there are jobs that exist but you have to commit to it and love what you’re doing.


This whole project is simultaneously using all the connections I’ve made over my time at school, utilizing the classes I’ve put into my degree, and takes my contract and casts it out into the minds of young students. I built my degree to be able to work in almost any area of the theatre so I will always be employed in theatre. And that’s what I’m trying to show students when they’re still deciding what they want to do with their lives so that the option of pursuing theatre is actually an option and not just a dream that’s been shot down by a false reality. By doing this I’m helping bring theatre and the arts to schools that may not have a theatre program or have low funded program, as the various Manchester schools do and then showing how pursuing theatre as a degree is an option.


I mentioned my degree and how I’m using what I’ve learned in my classes for this. I built my major to work in any area of the theatre. I took acting classes, dance, and voice lessons. I took stage management, and stagecraft and learned carpentry, basic electrics and sound, I learned to sew and follow a pattern, I took a job in the shop and worked as both a stage manager (SM) and assistant stage manager (ASM), I took marketing classes and accounting classes and learned how to run a business or company. I wanted to walk away from my 3 ½ semesters at Plymouth State as knowledgeable in as many areas of the theatre as I could possibly be. And I want to be able to share that knowledge with younger students who don’t know how much there really is to the amazing art we call theatre. From all those classes and jobs I also met a lot of people and made a lot of valuable connections. I am now calling on a few of these connections to make this a really educational and memorable experience. These theatre professors and professionals will come in and teach a workshop of their choosing, illustrate their skills, and give the students some hands on experience with the various jobs they may not have known existed.

School House Rock Jr. at Parkside Middle School Spring 2017

Prior to this project I have been choreographing for Parkside Players, a theatre company at Parkside Middle School in Manchester, NH. I am currently reaching out to the theatre director and the principal at that school to see if it would be possible to host the event there, and see if we could maybe use some resources if the or if any of the presenters needs them.


I will document my work on this project in an ePort post with images and examples of the work and event itself. I will also connect this to my PLN and create an instagram where I can share images of the work and the process. I will be using the instagram to connect with other theatre and dance teachers and professionals who want to help keep the arts alive in schools. I will also include screenshots of the instagram and a link to it on my ePort.

If the project is successful, I would want to see two different things happen. One, I would want to see people coming to the event and enjoying it and learning new things about theatre. Two, I would hope to see more interest in the theatre grow within the students who come and, maybe, in the future they also pursue theatre. Now, I wouldn’t see the second one in time for the end of the project but that is the long term success from this I would want to see. I also hope that by sharing my process through my PLN I can inspire others to do a similar event with their communities.


The basic layout of the event is as follows. People would come in as they want to and walk around to different booth-like areas where there are some of my colleagues and other professionals with their stations and workshops set up. From there people can wander to each as they please and learn what they want to. If a particular presenter would like to do more of a presentation we’ll announce times when those will start. Otherwise the floor will be open to various workshops and exercises that students can drop in and try things and be free to ask questions. I want it to be a hands on experience where a student can look through a stage managers book or play with sfx makeup or learn how to draft. I want the space to be an open playing field where students can learn how many different jobs truly exist in theatre and how they can choose to pursue it.


Timeline:

*is a working progress due to variables that aren’t set. Updates and edits are included in timeline


Week of September 1st:

  • Finish prospectus and starting timeline

  • Brainstorm list of presenters

  • Write template email for presenters

  • Email principal of Parkside and head of theatre at Parkside

  • Schedule a time to meet and talk with them

Week of September 8th:

  • Send email to all presenters and or verbally meet with them

  • Start creating a list of what will be presented

  • Have a set date for the event

Week of September 15th:

  • Find out who will need specific times/ set presentation times vs. a booth

  • Find out what supplies will be needed for the event

  • What the presenters will supply

  • What could be borrowed from Parkside

  • What I need to acquire

  • Create layout of event and set people’s locations

Week of September 22nd:

  • Make sure everything is set through this week

  • Update timeline and plans with new information up through the event

Possible event date: Friday October 25th

31 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page